Discovery Cube Annual Gala 2019 - Discovery Cube OC Discovery Cube Annual Gala 2019 - Discovery Cube OC

Discovery Cube Annual Gala 2019

This year, we were honored to celebrate the Superheroes and Legends who walk among us, our community champions, YOU! We were thrilled to present the prestigious Arnold O. Beckman Award to Douglas K. Freeman and the Spirit of Discovery Award to Malcom and Pat Niles. Both honorees have impacted Discovery Cube in countless ways for which we are forever grateful.

Discovery Cube Orange County is committed to making a difference in the community, and with your support, we are continuing to make a meaningful impact for thousands of children to become tomorrow’s leaders. Our Annual Gala is a testament of the passion and enthusiasm our community has for science education. Proceeds raised at this event provide vital support to our Education Fund and strengthen our innovative programming, community outreach and onsite exhibits. So, our immense gratitude to our supporters and volunteers!

<<Click here to see the 2019 gala photos>>

Special thanks to ALL of our many event Sponsors and Underwriters who made this incredible evening possible through their generosity:


WONDER WOMAN: Diana Prince Sponsor $25,000

Jim and Sheila Peterson

IRON MAN: Tony Stark Sponsor $15,000

Edison International

The Horowitz Group

Julie and Tom McDorman

Chiyo and Stan Rowe | UCI Foundation

SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union

CAPTAIN MARVEL: Carol Danvers Sponsor $10,000

Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation

Capital Group | Cindy Omiya

Ernst & Young LLP

Farmers and Merchants Foundation

Sherry & Parker Kennedy | First American Corporation

Barbara & Greg MacGillivray | Marissa & Stephen Robbins

Pacific Life

Michael Ray

Townsend Public Affairs, Inc.

Wells Fargo

Charlie and Ling Zhang

SUPERMAN: Clark Kent Sponsor $7,500

Armanino LLP

US Bank

Rachel and Ryan Ogulnick

HULK: Bruce Banner Sponsor $5,000

The Boeing Company

Crevier Family Fund

Edwards Lifesciences

Lu Ann Weerasuriya


CATERING $35,000

Janet and James “Walkie” Ray

VIDEOS $8,500

Carole and Del Stagg


Ginny and Rich Linting

Malcolm and Pat Niles


Lien Nguyen and Phu Hoang


Newport Beach & Company

VALET $4,500



Amy and Ron Mason

John Sergio Fisher & Associates

USI Insurance Services


Sheila and Jay Witzling


Ernst & Young LLP

PHOTO OP $2,000

Pam Horowitz and Rolf Uitzetter

POSTAGE $1,800

Carol and Marshall Lee

AWARDS $1,500

Mary and Rick Baily

Ellen and Michael Fine


Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club

Michelle and Tim Dean

Jane and Joe Hanauer

Ginny and Rich Linting

Linda and Ross Peters

Roxie Ray

Mishel and Greg Rohl

Skinner Fouch & Olson LLP

Kathy and John Tracy

We would also like to thank the dedicated members of this years’ 2019 gala committee:


Janet and James “Walkie” Ray


Julie and Tom McDorman

Honorary Gala Committee

Debbie and Dan Bolar

Bill Cheney

  SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union

Paul Folino

The David Horowitz Family

Anne Hultgren, Ph.D

  Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation

Sherry and Parker Kennedy

  First American Corporation

Mary Norberg

Tennyson Oyler

  Pacific Life

Sheila and Jim Peterson

Hac and Tim Henderson

  Bank of America

Michael Schulman

  Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club

Linda White-Peters

Jay Witzling

Janet Yamaguchi

Fan, Ana, Deni and Melody Yang

Gala Committee

Mechelle and Joe Adams

Mary and Rick Baily

Barbara and Kyle Eidson

Emily Horowitz and Chatom Arkin

Pam Horowitz and Rolf Uitzetter

Lori and Karl Kreutziger

Amy and Steve Litchfield

Amy and Ron Mason

Jill and Mark Skaist